Long time, no see. And in the meantime, lots of pee.

29May09

Well, I just haven’t had the time lately to update here as I should.  But I think things are settling down a bit, so, I hope, I will be able to get back to more regular posting.

So, you’re probably wondering about the pee.  First, the toddler is starting to want to use the toilet.  Mostly, to play with it and throw toilet paper in it and flush it wastefully.  Also, to stand in front of it, on a little stool, for ten minutes or so, doing nothing besides jabbering too himself about potty and poop.  And then as soon as he steps away from it (and before getting the diaper back on) peeing.  On the floor.

And second, and more amusing, older son.  First, background:  one time when we were on a long car ride, on a rural highway with no gas station nearby, I let older son pee in an empty cup.  It was that or stand on the side of the highway, and the cup seemed better.  I thought that was the end of it.

A few weeks later, I left older son in the car while I went into the house to pick the toddler up from day care.  When I came back out and was putting the toddler in his seat, older son said, “Mom, I had to go pee.” I said, oh, sure, of course they’ll let you use the bathroom, come on in. 

But as I was opening the front passenger door to put my purse on the seat, older son said, “Oh, no, it’s okay, I mean I already did pee.” And indeed he had. There on the front passenger seat was a plastic to-go container, which he had apparently obtained from a bag of recycling materials in the back of the minivan.  It was about half-full with pee.

I told older son that in the future he could just ask, and I would take him in to use the toilet.  He said okay.  I thought that was the end of it.

A couple of weeks later, on the way to drop older son off at afternoon kindergarten, I stopped at home to get him an apple.  As I was walking to the house, I realized that I’d forgotten to tell him not to leave his seat.  But when I came back, he was still in his seat, with his seat belt buckled.  Oh good, I thought, he stayed in his seat.

I got into the driver’s seat and was about to congratulate older son for staying buckled up, when, beside me, on the passenger seat, I saw a glass jar (another recyclable that I’d been carrying in the car to take to the dump).  The jar was half full of pee.  “Oh.”  I said.  “So I guess you had to pee?”

“Yeah.  Sorry.”

“Next time, please ask to come in the house.  You can hold it until I get back.”

“Okay, Mom.”

I really hope this is the end of it.  I am very ready for both of my boys to handle their own bathroom duties.

No Responses Yet to “Long time, no see. And in the meantime, lots of pee.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

