In Which the Minions Join a New Blog…and I Reveal That I Am a Soccer Mom

25Sep09

146165203_a231642c3dI am so excited for this new blog.  As I just posted about over there, I am going to move all my kid-related blogging over here, though I guess for now I’ll cross-post it there too.

What’s on my mind this morning is that yesterday I realized that I am an official honest-to-goodness soccer mom.  I went to the annual meeting of the Association for Women Lawyers.  The best part of that event is the awarding of scholarships to women in law school.  Their backgrounds are always humbling and inspiring, and yesterday was no exception.  Awards are also given to practicing lawyers, for mentoring, pro bono, and community service.  The winner of the community service award in her acceptance speech talked about how working moms everywhere are involved in so many activities beyond their work and their kids, like soccer.  She accepted the award on behalf of “all of us soccer moms,” to great applause.

At first I felt left out, and a little irritated, because before being a mom, I reacted really negatively to all the emphasis on women’s roles as mother, even in professional groups like AWL.  Then suddenly I realized that in a couple of hours, after the meeting, I would be going to pick up my kindergartner from soccer practice.  !  I am a soccer mom!

I resolved my mental conflict about being a soccer mom while at the same time resenting the constant adulation of women as soccer moms this way:  soccer moms like me, who’d rather not think of themselves first as soccer moms, are still soccer moms!  Indeed, I wish there were more of my type.

Well, I have no pithy ending, that’s it.  Happy Friday everybody.   Peace, out.

PS Wondering what the heck the “minions” reference means, look here.

Cross-post from Your Brain on Kids.

No Responses Yet to “In Which the Minions Join a New Blog…and I Reveal That I Am a Soccer Mom”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

